|Licensing Doctors of Optometry and Regulating the
Practice of Optometry
An optometrist licensed in Texas prior to August 31, 1992, may continue
to practice optometry. However, the optometrist may choose to become
therapeutically licensed under Section 351.252 of the Texas Optometry Act.
Prior to applying for a therapeutic license, a licensed optometrist must:
Rules 280.1 - 280.3.
- successfully complete at least 90 classroom hours of board
approved post graduate course work and clinical training in general and ocular
pharmacology and related pathology and pass the test administered by the course
- of the 90 hours, a minimum of 20 hours must be obtained in
applied clinical skills
- successfully pass the TMOD examination administered by NBEO
(taken after January of 1985).
A completed application will include:
- completed application (application is on website)
- a fee of $80.00
- attached to the application the original proof of passage of the ocular
therapeutics course and exam
- original proof of passage of the
TMOD examination submitted by the NBEO
The Board and the State of Texas make no warranty as to the accuracy, completeness,
reliability or fitness for a particular use of the information on this web site. The user
assumes all liability and waives any and all claims or causes of action against the Board
and the State of Texas for all uses of, and any
reliance on, this information. This paragraph shall accompany all distributions of this
information and is incorporated into this information for all purposes.
State of Texas Website
Copyright © 2002 - 2006, 2008 - 2009 TOB
Last Updated: 10/14/09
Please send comments and suggestions to Chris.Kloeris@mail.capnet.state.tx.us
Site URL: http://www.tob.state.tx.us